Talent Is Just Another Name for the Love of a Thing

by cindyhulej

      

The cathedral is really moving along for the time that I’ve got at the shop right now. It truly will be done soon. I’ve started working at the Tattoo Theatre and Art Gallery again that I used to work at- Paul Booth’s Last Rites(for those of you who like tattoos and dark surrealism). So, again forgive me for not posting very steadily, things are just non stop for me at the moment. 

Anyway, Rick and I are still fixing the shop up little by little, I redrilled all the hooks this morning in our new AllParts cabinet out front and did some more shaping on my neck which is what those photos are of.

I’m working on two pickguards, finishing up our friend Rod’s Bowery/NYC pickguard. Really excited about this one ‘cos it’s got the Chumley’s door and Hotel Chelsea sign on it. 

I’ve also started a pin-up girl pickguard which will be on the next shop guitar so look out for that one!

I am constantly reading and picking quotes up here and there, even out of books I’ve had for a long time, and I thought this one was neat, out of a book I believe I’ve quoted on here before. Classical Drawing Atelier.

Many factors contributed to the excellence of the art created during the Italian Renaissance. One of these was that artists were venerated by society in a way that had never previously occured. To fully appreciate the shift, it is helpful to review the role of artists in society prior to the Renaissance. The creation of artwork had been seen as a craft and painters and sculptors were categorized among stonemasons, glaziers, and weavers as manual laborers. Artistic creativity per se was not valued, nor were artists encouraged to produce unique or original work. Paintings and sculptures were most often created for political or religious reasons rather than intellectual or asthetic purposes. Moreover, art was often considered the creation of the person who commissioned it rather than of the artist.

